The Publication Committee Advisors

ACM Nipon Sakornyen Mr Thamanoon Wanglee Mr Chaiwat Pasokpuckdee Ms Rutchaneeporn P Phukkamarn Mr Thienchai Srivichit

Chairman Dr Suvit Yodmani **Vice Chairman**

Mr Sutee Suthisomboon

Members

Ms Eaimchan Premyothin Ms Chantavit

Sujatanond

Mr Don Pramudwinai Mr Bandhoon

Supakavanich

Mr Boonyong Vechamaneesri

Ms Chutapon Lambasara Ms Panjit Wattanayagorn

Mr Chalor Kotcharat

Mr Songchai Saisavetvaree

Mr Somsak Chuvativad Mr Weera Boonyaniwas

Khunying Kullasap Gesmankit Mr Sathaporn Wongjaroen, M.D.

Vongngamkam

Mr Dhawatchai Tangsanga

Mr Vichien Tejapaibul

Dr Twatchai Yongkittikul Mr Tawee Butsunthorn Ms Subhat Sawasdirak Ms Juthamas Siriwan

Ms Tomyantee Posayanonda Mr Pisit Charoenwongsa

Ms Dhachakorn Hemachandra

Ms Somlak

M.L. Panadda Diskul

Secretariat

Mr Anothai Udomsilp Ms Wiparat Tharateerapab Ms Sumalee Ketkeo Ms Sirikarn Kahattha

Editorial Board

Mr William Warren Mr Thamanoon

Pichakorn

Mr Pairote Gesmankit 1st. Lt Udom Prasitti

Khunying Kullasap Gesmankit Ms Sudjit Inthaiwong Ms Subhat Sawasdirak Ms Chantipha Phutrakul

Mr Thamanoon Wanglee Mr Orachart Seubsith Ms Somlak Vongngamkam Mr Anothai Udomsilp

Mr Ekaphong Lauhathiansind Ms Wiparat Tharateerapab

Ms Iuthamas Siriwan Ms Parichart Katavetin Prof Lt Gen Opas Ratanaburi

Acknowledgements

The Publication Committee is especially grateful to Assoc Prof Sugree Charoensook Bank of Thailand Department of Business Economics National Statistical Office Office of the Civil Service Commission

Photographic Credits

The Office of His Majesty Serincipal Private Secretary Bureau of the Royal Household Bank of Thailand

Government Spokesman Bureau, Office of the Secretariat of the Prime Minister

The National Identity Office, Office of the Secretariat of

the Prime Minister

Office of the Board of Investment

The Public Relations Department National Energy Policy Office

The Tourism Authority of Thailand

Sports Authority of Thailand

Department of Information, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Health Education Division, Ministry of Public Health

Office of the Permanent Secretary for Agriculture and Cooperatives

Office of the Permanent Secretary for Science, Technology and Environment

Office of the Permanent Secretary for Education, Ministry of Education

Office of the Permanent Secretary for Public Health, Ministry of Public Health

Office of the Permanent Secretary for Industry, Ministry of Industry

Rajabhat Institute Suan Sunanta, Office of the Rajabhat Institutes Council

The Religious Affairs Department, Ministry of Education

Samsen Wittayalai School

The Department of Highways

Toyota Motor Thailand Company Limited

Metropolitan Rapid Transit Authority

Bangkok Mass Transit System Public Company Limited

Chiva - Som International Health Resort

Mr Kraipit Phanvut & Kraipit Photography Inc.

Mr Somchai Nguansangiam

Mr Apinan Buahapakdi

M.L. Panadda Diskul

Design and Artwork

Ms Wineenart Phanvut Art in Production Tel. (662) 938-5430-31

Published by

The National Identity Board,

Office of the Prime Minister, Bangkok, Thailand

First published 2000: 50,000 copies

Copyright

c 2000 by Office of the Prime Minister, Royal Thai Government

All rights reserved

Printed by

Amarin Printing and Publishing Public Company Limited

Tel. (662) 882-1010

ISBN 974-7772-56-6

With the Compliments of the Office of the Prime Minister